Ann Arbor's non-profit center for fine film and the performing arts



What's happening
at the

Entire Schedule

View the monthly Hammond organ schedule (the Barton organ is under construction until September).

Call 668-TIME (8463) to find out which film is playing in the screening room or the historic main theater.

The Michigan Theater is hearing- and mobility-impaired accessible.
The State Theatre is currently not mobility-impaired accessible.

Date Event/Film Times Notes
Wednesday August 27
State showBoyhood
4:30 & 8:00
State showMagic in the Moonlight
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showViolette
4:45 & 7:40
State showCalvary
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
Thursday August 28
State showThe Visitor
10:00 Part of the Summer Classics After Dark Series.
State showViolette
4:15 & 7:00
State showBoyhood
4:30 & 8:00
State showMagic in the Moonlight
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showCalvary
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
Friday August 29
State showLand Ho!
4:15
State showBoyhood
4:30 & 8:00
State showMagic in the Moonlight
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showCalvary
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
State showThe One I Love
6:45 & 9:00
Saturday August 30
State showLand Ho!
4:15
State showBoyhood
4:30 & 8:00
State showMagic in the Moonlight
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showCalvary
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
State showThe One I Love
6:45 & 9:00
Sunday August 31
State showBoyhood
1:15, 4:45 & 8:15
State showLife of Brian
1:30 Part of the Summer Classics Film Series.
State showLand Ho!
4:00
State showMagic in the Moonlight
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showCalvary
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
State showThe One I Love
6:15 & 8:30
Monday September 01
State showMagic in the Moonlight
3:30, 6:00 & 8:30
State showCalvary
3:45, 6:15 & 8:45
State showLand Ho!
4:15
State showBoyhood
4:30 & 8:00
State showCasablanca
7:00 Free for students with valid ID! Part of the Summer Classic Film Series.
State showThe One I Love
9:30
Tuesday September 02
State showLand Ho!
4:15
State showBoyhood
4:30 & 8:00
State showMagic in the Moonlight
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showCalvary
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
State showLife of Brian
7:00 Part of the Summer Classics Film Series.
State showThe One I Love
9:00
Wednesday September 03
State showThe One I Love
4:15
State showBoyhood
4:30 & 8:00
State showMagic in the Moonlight
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showCalvary
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
State showLand Ho!
6:45 & 9:00
Thursday September 04
State showMonty Python's The Meaning of Life
10:00 Part of the Summer Classics After Dark Series.
State showBoyhood
4:30 & 8:00
State showMagic in the Moonlight
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showLand Ho!
4:45
State showCalvary
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
State showThe One I Love
7:00
Friday September 05
State showFrank
TBA
Saturday September 06
State eventUM-Notre Dame football on the big screen
6:00 Presented by the Washtenaw Alano Club. Free admission; donations accepted at the door.
State showThe Big Lebowski
Midnight
State showFrank
TBA
Sunday September 07
State showPulp Fiction
1:30 Part of the Summer Classics Film Series.
State showEmbrace of Aging: the Female Perspective of Growing Old
6:00
State showFrank
TBA
Monday September 08
State showThe Last Day of Summer & Innocent Sorcerers
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema
State eventElvis Costello
8:00
State showFrank
TBA
Tuesday September 09
State showPulp Fiction
7:00 Part of the Summer Classics Film Series.
State showFrank
TBA
Wednesday September 10
State showThe Grandmaster
7:00 FREE admission. Part of Electric Shadows: Premiere Contemporary Chinese Film Series
State showFrank
TBA
State showLe Chef
TBA
Thursday September 11
State showMommie Dearest
10:00 Part of the Summer Classics After Dark Series.
State eventAnna Deavere Smith
5:10  Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series
State showFrank
TBA
State showLe Chef
TBA
Friday September 12
State showThe Trip to Italy
TBA
State showThe Drop
TBA
Saturday September 13
State showYoung Filmmakers Camp Screening
1:00 Free!
State showThe Trip to Italy
TBA
State showThe Drop
TBA
Sunday September 14
State eventMike Birbiglia - Thank God for Jokes Tour
8:00
State showThe Trip to Italy
TBA
State showThe Drop
TBA
Monday September 15
State showNight Train
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
State showThe Trip to Italy
TBA
State showThe Drop
TBA
Tuesday September 16
State showThe Trip to Italy
TBA
State showThe Drop
TBA
Wednesday September 17
State showAmerican Dreams in China
7:00 Part of Electric Shadows: Premiere Contemporary Chinese Film Series
State showThe Trip to Italy
TBA
State showThe Drop
TBA
State showAlive Inside
TBA
Thursday September 18
State showPussy Riot/Zona Prava
5:10  Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series
State showThe Trip to Italy
TBA
State showThe Drop
TBA
State showAlive Inside
TBA
Friday September 19
State eventNick Swardson: Taste It Tour
8:00
State showMy Old Lady
TBA
Saturday September 20
State showSpace Jam
Midnight
State showMy Old Lady
TBA
Sunday September 21
State showThe Princess Bride
1:30 FREE for kids 12 and under! Part of the Benard L. Maas Family-Friendly Film Series, presented by Toyota.
State showRSC in HD: Shakespeare’s The Two Gentlemen of Verona
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS. 
State showMy Old Lady
TBA
Monday September 22
State showA Short Film About Killing
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
State showMy Old Lady
TBA
Tuesday September 23
State showMy Old Lady
TBA
Wednesday September 24
State showFinding Mr. Right
7:00 FREE admission. Part of Electric Shadows: Premiere Contemporary Chinese Film Series
State showMy Old Lady
TBA
Thursday September 25
State eventRei Inamoto
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showMy Old Lady
TBA
Friday September 26
State showThe Skeleton Twins
TBA
Saturday September 27
State eventPick a Card: A Burlesque Exploration of Tarot
8:00 Presented by Gala Delicious and Queens of Cups.
Sunday September 28
State eventCurious George
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
State showNational Theatre Live: Euripides’ Medea
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Monday September 29
State showJump
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Wednesday October 01
State showYoung Detective Dee
7:00 FREE admission. Part of Electric Shadows: Premiere Contemporary Chinese Film Series
Thursday October 02
State eventFred Tomaselli
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showManhattan Short Film Festival
7:00
Monday October 06
State showThe Illumination
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Wednesday October 08
State showJourney to the West
7:00 FREE admission. Part of Electric Shadows: Premiere Contemporary Chinese Film Series
Thursday October 09
State eventPhil Gilbert
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
Saturday October 11
State eventMade in the USA
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra. 
Sunday October 12
State eventMozart’s Magnificent Voyage
4:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra
Monday October 13
State showThe Saragossa Manuscript
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Wednesday October 15
State eventGregory Porter
7:30 Presented by UMS.
Thursday October 16
State eventFoodCorps - Ian Cheney & Kurt Ellis
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State eventAn Evening with Chris Thile and Edgar Meyer
8:00 Presented by UMS.
Saturday October 18
State showThe Exorcist
Midnight Midnights are only $7!
Monday October 20
State showPharaoh
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema
Thursday October 23
State eventRandom International
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
Friday October 24
State showThe Rocky Horror Picture Show
Midnight  Midnights are only $7!  NO exchanges or refunds. Comps and passes not accepted.
Saturday October 25
State showThe Rocky Horror Picture Show
Midnight  Midnights are only $7!  NO exchanges or refunds. Comps and passes not accepted.
Monday October 27
State showMother Joan of the Angels
7:00  Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema
Thursday October 30
State eventRyoji Ikeda
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
Monday November 03
State showAshes and Diamonds
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Thursday November 06
State eventInta Ruka
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
Monday November 10
State showThe Hourglass Sanatorium
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Thursday November 13
State eventAnab Jain, Superflux
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
Saturday November 15
State eventTchaikovsky & Friends
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra.
Monday November 17
State showAusteria
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Thursday November 20
State eventFrançoise Mouly
5:10  Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
Monday November 24
State showBlack Cross
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Monday December 01
State showThe Promised Land
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Thursday December 04
State eventSeth Ellis
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
Saturday December 06
State eventJunie B. Jones
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
Monday December 08
State showMan of Iron
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Sunday January 25
State eventSkippyjon Jones
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
Saturday January 31
State eventMozart Birthday Bash
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra. 
Friday February 20
State eventThe Campbell Brothers perform John Coltrane’s A Love Supreme
8:00 Presented by UMS.
Sunday March 15
State eventClick, Clack, Moo
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
Saturday March 21
State eventAbsolut Russian
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra.
Sunday March 22
State eventDisney In Concert: Magical Music from the Movies
4:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra.
Friday April 17
State eventOliver Mtukudzi and the Black Spirits
8:00 Presented by UMS.
Saturday May 09
State eventFly Guy and Other Stories
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.