Ann Arbor's non-profit center for fine film and the performing arts



What's happening
at the

Entire Schedule

Click here to view a PDF of the April newsletter.

If you’re looking for the March newsletter, click here.

View the monthly organ schedule.

Call 668-TIME (8463) to find out which film is playing in the screening room
or the historic main theater.

The Michigan Theater is hearing- and mobility-impaired accessible.
The State Theatre is currently not mobility-impaired accessible.

Date Event/Film Times Notes
Saturday March 28
State showAnn Arbor Film Festival
11:00AM, 11:15AM, 1:00, 1:15, 3:00, 3:15, 5:00, 5:15, 7:00, 7:15, 9:15 & 9:30 For more information visit aafilmfest.org.
State showIt Follows
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showThe Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
4:45
State showRed Army
7:15
State showWhat We Do in the Shadows
9:15
State showTron
Midnight Part of the Ann Arbor Film Festival. For more information visit aafilmfest.org. Midnights are only $8!
Sunday March 29
State showAnn Arbor Film Festival
11:00AM, 11:15AM, 1:00, 1:15, 2:45, 3:00, 6:00 & 8:15 For more information visit aafilmfest.org.
State showIt Follows
3:30, 6:00 & 8:30
State showThe Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
3:45
State showRed Army
6:15
State showWhat We Do in the Shadows
8:15
Monday March 30
State showHuman Capital
4:00, 6:45, & 9:30
State showIt Follows
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showThe Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
4:45
State showThe Asphalt Jungle
7:00 Part of the Noir Film Series.
State showRed Army
7:15
State showWhat We Do in the Shadows
9:15
Tuesday March 31
State showIt Follows
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showThe Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
4:45
State showDivine Selfie: A Snapshot of Our True Selves
5:30 Presented by Saint Mary Student Parish.
State showLast Days in Vietnam
7:00 Free admission! Presented by Detroit Public Television. 
State showShe's Beautiful When She's Angry
7:15
State showRed Army
7:15
State showWhat We Do in the Shadows
9:15
State showHuman Capital
9:30
Wednesday April 01
State showIt Follows
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showHuman Capital
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showThe Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
4:45
State showThe Homestretch
6:30 Presented by Ozone House and Community Cinema. Free admission with panel discussion to follow.
State showShe's Beautiful When She's Angry
9:15
State showWhat We Do in the Shadows
9:45
Thursday April 02
State showHuman Capital
3:45, 7:30 & 9:50
State showIt Follows
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showThe Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
4:45
State eventKent Monkman
5:10 Part of the Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series
State showRed Army
7:15
State showShe's Beautiful When She's Angry
7:15 & 9:35
State showWhat We Do in the Shadows
9:15
Friday April 03
State showThe Woman In Gold
TBA
State showThe Hunting Ground
TBA
State showEffie Gray
TBA
Saturday April 04
State showGhostbusters 1 & 2 (Double Feature)
11:00 PM Double feature midnights start at 11pm and are $12!
State eventBronze Elegance: A Broadway Series
7:30
State showThe Woman In Gold
TBA
State showEffie Gray
TBA
Sunday April 05
State eventAn Easter Celebration
10:00 AM
State showThe Woman In Gold
TBA
State showThe Hunting Ground
TBA
State showEffie Gray
TBA
Monday April 06
State showThe Big Heat
7:00 Part of the Noir Film Series
State showThe Woman In Gold
TBA
State showThe Hunting Ground
TBA
State showEffie Gray
TBA
Tuesday April 07
State showBanff Mountain Film Festival
7:00
State showThe Woman In Gold
TBA
State showEffie Gray
TBA
Wednesday April 08
State eventKacey Musgraves
7:30 Presented by the Ark
State showEffie Gray
TBA
Thursday April 09
State eventLouis Benech
5:10 Part of the Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series
State showMatt Shepard Is a Friend of Mine
7:00 Presented by React to Film UMICH. Free Admission.
State showM-agination Film Festival
7:30
State showEffie Gray
TBA
Friday April 10
State eventDance Mix
7:00
Saturday April 11
State showWhistle Blower
2:00 Free admission! Part of Korean Cinema Now.
State eventGroove Presents Canarchy
7:30
Sunday April 12
State showThe Secret of NIMH
1:30 FREE for kids 12 & under! Part of the Toyota Family-Friendly Film Series.
State showAnn Arbor Jewish Festival
2:00 and 6:00 Presented by the Jewish Community Center of Greater Ann Arbor. For further information, visit www.jccannarbor.org.
Monday April 13
State showAnn Arbor Jewish Festival
2:00, 5:00 and 8:00 Presented by the Jewish Community Center of Greater Ann Arbor. For further information, visit www.jccannarbor.org.
State showKiss Me Deadly
5:10 Part of the Noir Film Series
Tuesday April 14
State showAnn Arbor Jewish Festival
2:00, 5:00 and 8:00 Presented by the Jewish Community Center of Greater Ann Arbor. For further information, visit www.jccannarbor.org.
Wednesday April 15
State showAnn Arbor Jewish Festival
2:00, 5:00 and 8:30 Presented by the Jewish Community Center of Greater Ann Arbor. For further information, visit www.jccannarbor.org.
Thursday April 16
State showAnn Arbor Jewish Festival
2:00, 5:00 and 8:00 Presented by the Jewish Community Center of Greater Ann Arbor. For further information, visit www.jccannarbor.org.
State showStamps School of Art & Design Integrated Projects
4:00 Free admission. For more information visit stamps.umich.edu.
Friday April 17
State eventOliver Mtukudzi and the Black Spirits
8:00 Presented by UMS. Tickets on sale at ums.org.
State showTrue Story
TBA
Saturday April 18
State eventRubber Soul & Magical Mystery Tour performed by the Fab Faux
8:00 Tickets on sale at ticketmaster.com
State showMadonna: Truth or Dare
Midnight Midnights are only $8!
State showTrue Story
TBA
Sunday April 19
State eventMichigan Pops Orchestra: Goodnight Pops
7:00
State showTrue Story
TBA
Monday April 20
State showBlood Simple
7:00 Part of the Noir Film Series
State showDeli Man
TBA
State showTrue Story
TBA
Tuesday April 21
State showThe Dell Honors Showcase
6:00 Presented by University of Michigan’s Department of Screen Arts & Cultures. Open to the public. Free admission!
State showTrue Story
TBA
Wednesday April 22
State showRSC in HD: Love’s Labour’s Won (Much Ado About Nothing)
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS. Tickets on sale at ums.org
State showTrue Story
TBA
Thursday April 23
State eventStuart McLean
7:30
State showTrue Story
TBA
Friday April 24
State eventHE>I Revival Worship Night
7:00
Saturday April 25
State showSalad Days: The Birth of Hardcore Punk in the Nation's Capital
9:30
State showDeli Man
TBA
Sunday April 26
State showThe Human Experiment
7:00 Part of the Science on Screen Series.
Monday April 27
State showWho Framed Roger Rabbit
7:00 Part of the Noir Film Series
State showDeli Man
TBA
Tuesday April 28
State showThe Human Experiment
TBA Part of the Science on Screen Series.
Wednesday April 29
State showSomm
7:00 Part of the Wine and Film Series. Presented with support from Wine Enthusiast Magazine.
State showDeli Man
TBA
Saturday May 02
State showBeetlejuice
Midnight Midnights are only $8!
Wednesday May 06
State showYou Will Be My Son
7:00 Part of the Wine and Film Series. Presented with support from Wine Enthusiast Magazine.
Saturday May 09
State eventFly Guy and Other Stories
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series. Tickets on sale at ticketmaster.com and at Nicola’s Books.
Wednesday May 13
State showA Year in Champagne
7:00 Part of the Wine and Film Series presented with support from Wine Enthusiast Magazine.
Saturday May 16
State eventAn Evening with Roger McGuinn
8:00 Presented by the Ark. Tickets on sale at ticketmaster.com.
State showSe7en
Midnight Midnights are only $8!
Sunday May 17
State showThe Phantom of the Opera (1929 restored version)
TBA Presented with live organ accompaniment by the American Guild of Organists (Ann Arbor Chapter). Reception follows. Special ticket prices apply.
Wednesday May 20
State showRed Obsession
07:00
Friday May 22
No events at this venue on this date. See all venues
Wednesday May 27
State showSideways
07:00 Part of the Wine and Film Series presented with support from Wine Enthusiast Magazine.
Saturday May 30
State showZoolander
Midnight Midnights are only $8!
Sunday October 04
State eventAn Evening with Mark Knopfler and Band
7:30
Sunday October 11
State eventBill Maher
7:30