Ann Arbor's non-profit center for fine film and the performing arts



What's happening
at the

Entire Schedule

View the monthly organ schedule.

Call 668-TIME (8463) to find out which film is playing in the screening room or the historic main theater.

The Michigan Theater is hearing- and mobility-impaired accessible.
The State Theatre is currently not mobility-impaired accessible.

Date Event/Film Times Notes
Friday October 31
State showMen, Women & Children
4:15, 6:45 & 9:15
State showDear White People
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showBirdman
7:00 & 9:55
State showPride
7:15 & 9:40
Saturday November 01
State showPride
4:00, 6:45 & 9:30
State showMen, Women & Children
4:15, 6:45 & 9:15
State showBirdman
4:15, 7:00 & 9:45
State showDear White People
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
Sunday November 02
State eventAACB: Overtures, Fanfares and Fantasies
2:00
State showMen, Women & Children
3:15, 5:45 & 8:15
State showDear White People
3:30, 6:00 & 8:30
State showBirdman
4:15, 6:45 & 9:15
State showBjork: Biophilia Live
7:00 & 9:30
Monday November 03
State showPride
4:00 & 9:30
State showBirdman
4:15, 6:45 & 9:15
State showDear White People
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showMen, Women & Children
6:45 & 9:15
State showAshes and Diamonds
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Tuesday November 04
State showPride
4:00, 6:45 & 9:30
State showMen, Women & Children
4:15
State showBirdman
4:15, 7:00 & 9:45
State showDear White People
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showInterstellar
8:00 & 11:30
Wednesday November 05
State showInterstellar
3:00, 6:30 & 9:55
State showPride
4:00 & 9:45
State showBirdman
4:15, 6:45 & 9:30
State showDear White People
4:30 & 9:30
State showGrave of the Fireflies
7:00 Part of the Part of the Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State. 
Thursday November 06
State showInterstellar
3:00, 6:30 & 9:55
State showBirdman
3:30, 7:15 & 9:45
State showDear White People
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State eventInta Ruka
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showRoad's End
7:30 Free admission. Presented with support from the Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies; the Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies; the University of Michigan Museum of Art (UMMA), and the River Gallery.
State showPride
9:15
Friday November 07
State showAnn Arbor Polish Film Festival
7:00 & 9:30
State showInterstellar
TBA
Saturday November 08
State showAnn Arbor Polish Film Festival
11:00, 2:00 & 7:00
State showHedwig and the Angry Inch
11:59 Midnights are only $7!
State showChitty Chitty Bang Bang
1:30 FREE for kids 12 & under! Part of the Toyota Family-Friendly Film Series presented by the Benard L. Maas Foundation.
State eventGov't Mule
8:00
State showInterstellar
TBA
Sunday November 09
State showAnn Arbor Polish Film Festival
12:00, 2:00 & 4:00
State showInterstellar
TBA
Monday November 10
State showThe Hourglass Sanatorium
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
State showThe Two Faces of January
TBA
State showInterstellar
TBA
Tuesday November 11
State showAmerican Bear: An Adventure in the Kindness of Strangers
7:00
State showThe Two Faces of January
TBA
State showInterstellar
TBA
Wednesday November 12
State showKano
3:00 & 7:15
State showPorco Rosso
7:00 Part of the Part of the Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State. 
State showCamp X-Ray
TBA
State showInterstellar
TBA
Thursday November 13
State eventAnab Jain, Superflux
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showSwearnet
7:30
State showCamp X-Ray
TBA
State showInterstellar
TBA
Friday November 14
State showWhiplash
TBA
Saturday November 15
State eventTchaikovsky & Friends
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra.
State showWhiplash
TBA
Sunday November 16
State eventMelissa Etheridge
7:30
State showWhiplash
TBA
Monday November 17
State showAusteria
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
State showThe Zero Theorem
TBA
State showWhiplash
TBA
Tuesday November 18
State showWhiplash
TBA
Wednesday November 19
State showPrincess Mononoke
7:00 Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State. 
State showDead Poet's Society
7:00
State showCitizenfour
TBA
State showWhiplash
TBA
Thursday November 20
State eventFrançoise Mouly
5:10  Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showCitizenfour
TBA
State showWhiplash
TBA
Friday November 21
State eventThanksgroovin’
7:30 Presented by Groove.
Saturday November 22
State showMean Girls
Midnight
State showCitizenfour
TBA
Sunday November 23
State eventMichigan Pops Orchestra
7:30
Monday November 24
State showBlack Cross
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
State showCitizenfour
TBA
Tuesday November 25
State showSpirited Away
7:00 Part of the Part of the Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State. 
State showCitizenfour
TBA
Wednesday November 26
State showCitizenfour
TBA
Thursday November 27
State showCitizenfour
TBA
Friday November 28
State showWarner Bros. Cartoons
11:30 A.M.
State showSing-A-Long White Christmas
7:30
State showThe Theory of Everything
TBA
Saturday November 29
State showThe Theory of Everything
TBA
Sunday November 30
State showMy Neighbor Totoro
1:30 FREE for kids 12 and under! Part of the Toyota Family-Friendly Film Series and The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State.
State showHome Alone
1:30 FREE admission. Part of the State Street Area Association Holiday Classic Film Series.
State showThe Theory of Everything
TBA
Monday December 01
State showThe Promised Land
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
State showThe Theory of Everything
TBA
Tuesday December 02
State showThe Theory of Everything
TBA
Wednesday December 03
State showFrom Up On Poppy Hill
7:00 Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State.
State showThe Theory of Everything
TBA
Thursday December 04
State eventSeth Ellis
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showThe Theory of Everything
TBA
Friday December 05
State showWarren Miller's No Turning Back
7:30
Saturday December 06
State eventJunie B. Jones
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
State showThree Amigos!
Midnight Midnights are only $7!
Sunday December 07
State showMiracle on 34th Street
1:30 FREE admission. Part of the State Street Area Association Holiday Classic Film Series.
Monday December 08
State showMan of Iron
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Wednesday December 10
State showThe Wind Rises
7:00 Part of The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State.
Thursday December 11
State showNational Theatre Live: Skylight
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Sunday December 14
State showElf
1:30 FREE admission. Part of the State Street Area Association Holiday Classic Film Series.
Sunday December 21
State showIt's a Wonderful Life
1:30 FREE admission. Part of the State Street Area Association Holiday Classic Film Series.
Sunday January 18
State showNational Theatre Live: John
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS
Sunday January 25
State eventSkippyjon Jones
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
Saturday January 31
State eventMozart Birthday Bash
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra. 
Friday February 20
State eventThe Campbell Brothers perform John Coltrane’s A Love Supreme
8:00 Presented by UMS.
Sunday February 22
State showNational Theatre Live: Treasure Island
3:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Saturday March 14
State eventMike + The Mechanics
8:00 Presented by Live Nation.
Sunday March 15
State eventClick, Clack, Moo
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
State showRSC in HD: Love's Labour's Lost
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS
Saturday March 21
State eventAbsolut Russian
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra.
Sunday March 22
State eventDisney In Concert: Magical Music from the Movies
4:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra.
Friday April 17
State eventOliver Mtukudzi and the Black Spirits
8:00 Presented by UMS.
Saturday April 18
State eventRubber Soul & Magical Mystery Tour performed by the Fab Faux
8:00
Wednesday April 22
State showRSC in HD: Love’s Labour’s Won (Much Ado About Nothing)
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Saturday May 09
State eventFly Guy and Other Stories
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.