Ann Arbor's non-profit center for fine film and the performing arts



What's happening
at the

Entire Schedule

Click here to view a PDF of the AUGUST newsletter.

View the monthly organ schedule.

Call 668-TIME (8463) to find out which film is playing in the screening room or the historic main theater.

The Michigan Theater is hearing- and mobility-impaired accessible.
The State Theatre is currently not mobility-impaired accessible.

Date Event/Film Times Notes
Monday August 03
State showTestament of Youth
3:45 & 9:15
State showAmy
3:45, 6:30 & 9:15
State showSouthpaw
4:00, 6:45 & 9:30
State showMr. Holmes
4:00, 6:45 & 9:30
State showThe Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet in 3D
7:00 Presented in 3D. Special ticket pricing applies for 3D films!
Tuesday August 04
State showMr. Holmes
3:45
State showAmy
3:45, 6:30 & 9:15
State showSouthpaw
4:00, 6:45 & 9:30
State showThe Thin Man
7:00 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
State eventLyle Lovett and His Large Band
7:30 Tickets on sale Friday, May 1 at Ticketmaster.com. Charge by phone at 800-745-3000.
State showThe Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet
9:15
Wednesday August 05
State showAmy
3:45, 6:30 & 9:15
State showThe Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet
4:00
State showSouthpaw
4:00, 6:45 & 9:30
State showMr. Holmes
4:15, 7:00 & 9:30
State showTestament of Youth
6:45 & 9:15
Thursday August 06
State showTestament of Youth
3:45 & 9:15
State showAmy
3:45, 6:30 & 9:15
State showSouthpaw
4:00, 6:45 & 9:30
State showMr. Holmes
4:00, 6:45 & 9:30
State showThe Young and Prodigious T.S. Spivet
7:00
Friday August 07
State showInfinitely Polar Bear
TBA
State showIrrational Man
TBA
State showDark Places
TBA
Saturday August 08
State showInfinitely Polar Bear
TBA
State showIrrational Man
TBA
State showDark Places
TBA
Sunday August 09
State showStar Trek: The Motion Picture
1:30 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
State showInfinitely Polar Bear
TBA
State showIrrational Man
TBA
State showDark Places
TBA
Monday August 10
State showInfinitely Polar Bear
TBA
State showIrrational Man
TBA
State showDark Places
TBA
Tuesday August 11
State showStar Trek: The Motion Picture
7:00 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
State showInfinitely Polar Bear
TBA
State showIrrational Man
TBA
State showDark Places
TBA
Wednesday August 12
State showTrace Amounts: Autism, Mercury, and the Hidden Truth
7:00 Presented by Gathr.com. A quota of reservations must be met in order for this film to be screened; reserve your tickets now at gathr.com.
State showInfinitely Polar Bear
TBA
State showIrrational Man
TBA
State showDark Places
TBA
Thursday August 13
State eventRosie The Riveter Revisited
6:00 Hors d'Oeuvres will be served at 6 PM; the presentation will begin at 6:30. Free and open to the public!
State showIrrational Man
TBA
State showDark Places
TBA
Friday August 14
State showThe End of the Tour
TBA
State showStanford Prison Experiment
TBA Limited Engagement!
Saturday August 15
State showTitanic
11:00 Midnights are only $8! Please note the earlier start time for this screening.
State eventInternational Stars of Ballet Gala
7:00 Presented by the Academy of Russian Classical Ballet. Tickets $35, $45, $60 and $75. Tickets available at www.ticketmaster.com.
State showThe End of the Tour
TBA
Sunday August 16
State showDuck Soup
1:30 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
State showA LEGO Brickumentary
TBA Limited Engagement!
State showThe End of the Tour
TBA
Monday August 17
State showA LEGO Brickumentary
TBA Limited Engagement!
State showThe End of the Tour
TBA
Tuesday August 18
State showDuck Soup
7:00 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
State showA LEGO Brickumentary
TBA Limited Engagement!
State showThe End of the Tour
TBA
Wednesday August 19
State showHard to Be a God
TBA
State showStanford Prison Experiment
TBA Limited Engagement!
State showThe End of the Tour
TBA
Thursday August 20
State showStanford Prison Experiment
TBA Limited Engagement!
Friday August 21
State showGemma Bovery
TBA
Saturday August 22
State showGemma Bovery
TBA
Sunday August 23
State showSing-A-Long Mary Poppins
1:30 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
State showGemma Bovery
TBA
Monday August 24
State showGemma Bovery
TBA
Tuesday August 25
State showSing-A-Long Mary Poppins
7:00 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
State showGemma Bovery
TBA
Wednesday August 26
State showJellyfish Eyes
TBA
State showGemma Bovery
TBA
Thursday August 27
State showJellyfish Eyes
TBA
State showGemma Bovery
TBA
Friday August 28
State showThe Diary of a Teenage Girl
TBA
State showZ for Zachariah
TBA
Saturday August 29
State showThe Diary of a Teenage Girl
TBA
State showZ for Zachariah
TBA
Sunday August 30
State showForrest Gump
1:30 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
State eventNational Theatre Live: A View from the Bridge
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
State showThe Diary of a Teenage Girl
TBA
State showZ for Zachariah
TBA
Monday August 31
State showThe Diary of a Teenage Girl
TBA
Tuesday September 01
State showForrest Gump
7:00 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
State showThe Diary of a Teenage Girl
TBA
Wednesday September 02
State showThe Diary of a Teenage Girl
TBA
Thursday September 03
State eventJohn Hiatt & The Combo and the Taj Mahal Trio
7:30 Tickets available at Ticketmaster
State showThe Diary of a Teenage Girl
TBA
Saturday September 05
State showSpice World
11:59 Midnights are only $8!
Sunday September 06
State showBreakfast at Tiffany's
1:30 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
Monday September 07
State showCasablanca
7:00 Free for students with valid ID! Part of the Summer Classic Film Series.
Tuesday September 08
State showBreakfast at Tiffany's
7:00 Part of the Kerrytown Market & Shops Summer Classic Film Series.
Wednesday September 16
State eventNational Theatre Live: Man and Superman
7:30 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Saturday September 19
State showAmerican Psycho
11:59 Midnights are only $8!
Wednesday September 23
State eventPunch Brothers
8:00 Tickets on sale Friday, June 5 at 10 am at Ticketmaster.com.
Saturday October 03
State eventDog Loves Books
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series presented by Toyota.
Sunday October 04
State eventAn Evening with Mark Knopfler and Band
7:30
Wednesday October 07
State eventThe Gloaming
7:30 Presented by UMS. Tickets available at tickets.ums.org.
Sunday October 11
State eventBill Maher
7:30
Monday October 12
No events at this venue on this date. See all venues
Sunday October 18
State eventRSC in HD: Shakespeare's Othello
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Wednesday October 21
State eventAbdullah Ibrahim & Ekaya
7:30 Presented by UMS. Tickets available at tickets.ums.org.
Monday October 26
State eventAn Evening with David Sedaris
7:30 Tickets available at Ticketmaster.com
Sunday November 08
State eventChucho Valdés: Irakere 40
4:00 Presented by UMS. Tickets available at tickets.ums.org.
Monday November 09
State eventArlo Guthrie
7:30 Tickets available beginning Friday, June 26 at 10 AM at Ticketmaster.com and Ticketmaster charge by phone at 800.845.3000.
Sunday November 15
State showNational Theatre Live: Shakespeare's Hamlet
7:00
Wednesday November 18
State eventGuster
8:00 Tickets available at Ticketmaster.com beginning Friday, July 31 at 10 AM as well as all Ticketmaster outlets. Order by phone at 800-745-3000.
Saturday December 12
State eventAriel, Zoey & Eli
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series presented by Toyota.
Sunday December 13
State eventRSC in HD: Shakespeare's Henry V
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Wednesday January 27
State eventMs. Lisa Fischer and Grand Baton
7:30 Presented by UMS. Tickets available at tickets.ums.org.
Saturday February 13
State eventJunie B.'s Essential Survival Guide to School
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series presented by Toyota.
Friday February 19
State eventThe Triplets of Belleville
8:00 Presented by UMS. Tickets available at tickets.ums.org.
Sunday April 10
State eventAlexander, Who's Not Not Not Not Not Not Going to Move
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series presented by Toyota.
Friday April 15
State eventZafir: Musical Winds from North Africa to Andalucía
8:00 Presented by UMS. Tickets available at tickets.ums.org.
Saturday April 23
State eventThe Bad Plus Joshua Redman
8:00 Presented by UMS. Tickets available at tickets.ums.org.
Saturday May 07
State eventSeussical
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series presented by Toyota.