Ann Arbor's non-profit center for fine film and the performing arts



What's happening
at the

Entire Schedule

View the monthly Hammond organ schedule (the Barton organ is under construction until September).

Call 668-TIME (8463) to find out which film is playing in the screening room or the historic main theater.

The Michigan Theater is hearing- and mobility-impaired accessible.
The State Theatre is currently not mobility-impaired accessible.

Date Event/Film Times Notes
Monday October 20
State showThe Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: THEM
4:15
State showLove Is Strange
4:30
State showMen, Women & Children
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showThe Skeleton Twins
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
State showPharaoh
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema
Tuesday October 21
State showThe Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: THEM
4:15, 6:45 & 9:15
State showMen, Women & Children
4:15, 6:45 & 9:30
State showLove Is Strange
4:30 & 9:50
State showThe Skeleton Twins
4:45 & 9:45
State showDamNation
7:00
State show1,000 Times Good Night
7:00 Presented by the New York Film Critics Series.
Wednesday October 22
State showThe Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: THEM
4:00, 6;45 & 9:15
State showMen, Women & Children
4:15, 6:45 & 9:30
State showThe Skeleton Twins
4:45 & 9:45
State showEqual Means Equal
6:00 Presented by SafeHouse Center.
State showCastle in the Sky
7:00 Part of the Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State.
State showLove Is Strange
9:45
Thursday October 23
State showLove Is Strange
4:30 & 9:50
State showMen, Women & Children
4:30, 7:00 & 9:30
State showThe Skeleton Twins
4:45, 7:15 & 9:45
State eventRandom International
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showThe Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby: THEM
7:15 & 9:45
State showA2KIFF: One for All, All for One
7:30
Friday October 24
State eventThe Price of Life Invitational
7:00 Free admission. Presented by the UM InterVarsity Christian Fellowship.
State showThe Rocky Horror Picture Show
Midnight  Midnights are only $7!  NO exchanges or refunds. Comps and passes not accepted.
State showPride
TBA
State showDear White People
TBA
Saturday October 25
State showPonyo
1:30 Part of the Toyota Family-Friendly Film Series and the Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State. Free for kids 12 & under! 
State showA2KIFF: Non-Fiction Diary
2:00
State showA2KIFF: My Place
7:30
State showThe Rocky Horror Picture Show
Midnight  Midnights are only $7!  NO exchanges or refunds. Comps and passes not accepted.
State showPride
TBA
State showDear White People
TBA
Sunday October 26
State showPride
TBA
State showDear White People
TBA
Monday October 27
State showMother Joan of the Angels
7:00  Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema
State showPride
TBA
State showDear White People
TBA
Tuesday October 28
State showCowspiracy: The Sustainability Secret
7:00
State showPride
TBA
State showDear White People
TBA
Wednesday October 29
State showKiKi's Delivery Service
7:00 Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year Retrospective at the State. 
State showNosferatu
7:30
State showPride
TBA
State showDear White People
TBA
Thursday October 30
State eventRyoji Ikeda
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showPride
TBA
State showDear White People
TBA
Friday October 31
State showBirdman
TBA
Saturday November 01
State showBirdman
TBA
Sunday November 02
State eventAACB: Overtures, Fanfares and Fantasies
2:00
State showBjork: Biophilia Live
7:00 & 9:30
State showBirdman
TBA
Monday November 03
State showAshes and Diamonds
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
State showBirdman
TBA
Tuesday November 04
State showBirdman
TBA
Wednesday November 05
State showGrave of the Fireflies
7:00 Part of the Part of the Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State. 
State showInterstellar
TBA
State showBirdman
TBA
Thursday November 06
State eventInta Ruka
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showRoad's End
7:30 Free admission. Presented with support from the Weiser Center for Emerging Democracies; the Center for Russian, East European and Eurasian Studies; the University of Michigan Museum of Art (UMMA), and the River Gallery.
State showInterstellar
TBA
State showBirdman
TBA
Friday November 07
State showInterstellar
TBA
Saturday November 08
State showChitty Chitty Bang Bang
1:30 FREE for kids 12 & under! Part of the Toyota Family-Friendly Film Series presented by the Benard L. Maas Foundation.
State eventGov't Mule
8:00
State showInterstellar
TBA
Sunday November 09
State showInterstellar
TBA
Monday November 10
State showThe Hourglass Sanatorium
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
State showInterstellar
TBA
Tuesday November 11
State showAmerican Bear: An Adventure in the Kindness of Strangers
7:00
State showInterstellar
TBA
Wednesday November 12
State showPorco Rosso
7:00 Part of the Part of the Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State. 
State showInterstellar
TBA
Thursday November 13
State eventAnab Jain, Superflux
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showInterstellar
TBA
Friday November 14
State showWhiplash
TBA
Saturday November 15
State eventTchaikovsky & Friends
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra.
State showWhiplash
TBA
Sunday November 16
State eventMelissa Etheridge
7:30
State showWhiplash
TBA
Monday November 17
State showAusteria
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
State showWhiplash
TBA
Tuesday November 18
State showWhiplash
TBA
Wednesday November 19
State showPrincess Mononoke
7:00 Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State. 
State showDead Poet's Society
7:00
State showWhiplash
TBA
Thursday November 20
State eventFrançoise Mouly
5:10  Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
State showWhiplash
TBA
Friday November 21
State eventThanksgroovin’
7:30 Presented by Groove.
Monday November 24
State showBlack Cross
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Tuesday November 25
State showSpirited Away
7:00 Part of the Part of the Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State. 
Friday November 28
State showWarner Bros. Cartoons
11:30 A.M.
State showSing-A-Long White Christmas
7:30
Sunday November 30
State showMy Neighbor Totoro
1:30 FREE for kids 12 and under! Part of the Toyota Family-Friendly Film Series and The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State.
Monday December 01
State showThe Promised Land
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Wednesday December 03
State showFrom Up On Poppy Hill
7:00 Part of the The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State.
Thursday December 04
State eventSeth Ellis
5:10 Part of the UM Penny W. Stamps Speaker Series.
Friday December 05
State showWarren Miller's No Turning Back
7:30
Saturday December 06
State eventJunie B. Jones
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
Monday December 08
State showMan of Iron
7:00 Part of Martin Scorsese Presents: Masterpieces of Polish Cinema.
Wednesday December 10
State showThe Wind Rises
7:00 Part of The Studio Ghibli Collection: A 30-Year-Retrospective at the State.
Thursday December 11
State showNational Theatre Live: Skylight
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Sunday December 14
State showElf
1:30 FREE! Part of the Toyota Family-Friendly Film Series presented by the Benard L. Maas Foundation and part of the Holiday Classic Film Series.
Sunday January 18
State showNational Theatre Live: John
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS
Sunday January 25
State eventSkippyjon Jones
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
Saturday January 31
State eventMozart Birthday Bash
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra. 
Friday February 20
State eventThe Campbell Brothers perform John Coltrane’s A Love Supreme
8:00 Presented by UMS.
Sunday February 22
State showNational Theatre Live: Treasure Island
3:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Saturday March 14
State eventMike + The Mechanics
8:00 Presented by Live Nation.
Sunday March 15
State eventClick, Clack, Moo
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.
State showRSC in HD: Love's Labour's Lost
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS
Saturday March 21
State eventAbsolut Russian
8:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra.
Sunday March 22
State eventDisney In Concert: Magical Music from the Movies
4:00 Presented by the Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra.
Friday April 17
State eventOliver Mtukudzi and the Black Spirits
8:00 Presented by UMS.
Saturday April 18
State eventRubber Soul & Magical Mystery Tour performed by the Fab Faux
8:00
Wednesday April 22
State showRSC in HD: Love’s Labour’s Won (Much Ado About Nothing)
7:00 Presented in partnership with UMS.
Saturday May 09
State eventFly Guy and Other Stories
1:30 Part of the Benard L. Maas Not Just For Kids Series.